Twenty-three college football coaches were named to the watch list on Wednesday as contenders for the 2016 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

The coaches are: Bret Bielema, Arkansas; Paul Chryst, Wisconsin; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; P.J Fleck, Western Michigan; Jim Grobe, Baylor University; Jim Harbaugh, Michigan; Bryan Harsin, Boise State; Tom Herman, Houston; Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia; Butch Jones, Tennessee; Mike MacIntyre, Colorado; Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Jim McElwain, Florida; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; Chris Petersen, Washington; Bobby Petrino, Louisville; Mike Riley, Nebraska; Nick Saban, Alabama; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Willie Taggart, South Florida; Kyle Whittingham, Utah.

The Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor presented after all bowl games are concluded. It is voted on by the National Sports Media Association and five to 10 finalists will be announced this December who will then attend an awards banquet on Jan. 11.

The Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards presented by Marathon Oil Corp. has raised more than $7 million in the past 31 years to fund AHA research, advocacy and educational programs across the country.