Several major awards were presented Sunday at Scientific Sessions.

Chairman’s Award: Honors individual excellence in volunteer service that significantly advances the association’s strategic goals

Dr. Ileana Piña

Professor, department of medicine and the department of epidemiology and population health at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York

Dr. Piña is a tireless AHA supporter who plays a key role in advancing the association’s strategic goals, with a special focus on helping eradicate disparities in health care and promote cardiovascular wellness among racial and ethnic minorities. 


Basic Research Prize: Recognizes researchers who make significant contributions to the advancement of cardiovascular science and who head outstanding research laboratories.

Dr. Jeffrey A. Towbin, MD, FAHA, Professor of Pediatrics at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Dr. Towbin has made many significant contributions to the basic understanding of heart disease in children, and his expertise in the fields of molecular cardiology, cardiomyopathy and arrhythmia has been widely recognized.


Clinical Research Prize: Recognizes an individual who is making outstanding contributions to the advancement of cardiovascular science and who heads a distinguished clinical research laboratory.

Dr. Thomas Brott, MD, Professor of Neurology and Director for Research at the Mayo Clinic Jacksonville – Neurology in Florida

Dr. Brott has provided dynamic direction of highly significant clinical trials for three decades. His work achieving comprehensive testing and approval of tPA for quick use in emergency stroke treatment provided the first scientifically proven treatment for acute thrombotic stroke.



Population Research Prize: Recognizes an individual who is making outstanding contributions to the advancement of cardiovascular science and who heads a major population research laboratory.

Dr. Lewis H. Kuller, MD, DrPH, MPH, FAHA, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Epidemiology and Distinguished University Professor of Public Health Graduate School of Public Health at the University of Pittsburgh.

Dr. Kuller has provided 40 years of inspired leadership of a worldwide effort to better understand and prevent heart disease and stroke through wide-ranging studies of multiple risk factors. He has also pioneered investigations to facilitate earlier detection, prevention and treatment of heart disease. 


Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award: Honors a special individual who, for at least 20 to 25 years, has successfully mentored promising young academicians.

Dr. Mark Josephson, MD, FAHA, Chief of Cardiovascular Medicine at Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital and Herman Dana Professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine at Harvard Medical School 

Dr. Josephson has devoted four decades to mentoring generations of medical students, residents and fellows while playing a transformational role in the advancement of clinical cardiac electrophysiology. He has educated thousands of clinicians and researchers on the intricacies of heart rhythm disturbances. 


Research Achievement Award: Recognizes a lifetime of distinguished scientific achievement in cardiovascular research and/or teaching.

Dr. Roberto Bolli, MD, FAHA, Professor of Medicine, Physiology and Biophysics Chief, and Division of Cardiovascular Medicine Director at the Institute of Molecular Cardiology at the University of Louisville

Dr. Bolli has made extraordinary contributions to cardiovascular research over the past 40 years, gaining recognition as a world leader in the field.  His research has opened the way for the development of novel cardio-protective strategies in patients with ischemic heart disease.